1

REPUBLIC OF KENYA MURANG'A COUNTY ASSEMBLY THE HANSARD

Monday, 4th September 2017 The House met at 4:36 p.m. (The Speaker Hon. Nduati Kariuki in the Chair)

PRAYERS

COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR

SWEARING IN OF NOMINATED MEMBERS OF COUNTY ASSEMBLY

The Speaker: Honourable Members, in the morning, we adjourned the House until such a date that would be notified as the date set for the next business of the House.

Honourable Members, with regards to the matter at Chief Magistrate's court at Murang'a, petition no. 1 of 2017, Hellen Ndiko Kigia and two others versus the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), we had instructed our lawyers to challenge the petition and get further direction from the court.

We have now received the orders of the court and its decision is that, it has vacated the orders stopping the swearing in of the nominated members of Murang'a County Assembly; in this case, Hon. Members, all the nominated MCA's are hereby allowed to take Oath or Affirmation of office.

Pursuant to Article 74 of the Constitution, no person shall assume or perform any functions of the office before taking and subscribing to the Oath or Affirmation of office.

Honourable Members, pursuant to Article 74 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010, and the Assembly standing order 4 (2) (c), the clerk shall now proceed to administer the Oath or Affirmation to office to all nominated members here present.

PAPER LAID

LIST OF GAZETTED NOMINATED MEMBERS OF THE SECOND COUNTY ASSEMBLY

The Speaker: I will now proceed to lay on the Table of the Assembly the precedence list of nominated members.

(The Speaker laid the paper on the Table)

ADMINISTRATION OF OATH / AFFIRMATION

(The Oath of Allegiance/ Affirmation was administered to the following members)

Caroline Wairimu Njoroge Elizabeth Wambui Mwangi Alex Ndunda Makau Ann Wangari Kigo Beth Waithira Cathyrn Wanjiku Mwangi Dinah Damaris Muthoni Kagiri Eunice Nduta Kariuki Flasia Nduta Chege Jane Wanjiru Muigai Joyce Wambui Njoki Lilian Nyaguthii Kabaya Lucy Nyambura Ngugi Milka Gathoni Ngari Passy Njeri Kang'atu Ruth Wambui Karanja Sarah Njeri Njoroge Stephen Mwangi Chege

The Speaker: Honorable members, I wish to congratulate all of you on taking the oath of House. You are now from this moment officially Honorable members of this Honorable House.

ADJOURNMENT

The Speaker: This House now stands adjourned until further notice as you will be communicated officially. Thank you.

The House rose at 5:26 p.m.