1

REPUBLIC OF KENYA

MURANG'A COUNTY ASSEMBLY

THE HANSARD

Tuesday, 28th March 2023.

The Assembly met at 9:45 a.m.

[The Speaker (Hon. Johnson Mukuha) in the Chair]

PRAYER

MESSAGES

NOTIFICATION OF NOMINEES FOR APPOINTMENT.

The Speaker (Hon. Johnson Mukuha): Honourable Members, I wish to make the following Communication; pursuant to the provisions of Section 4 and 5 of the Office of the County Attorney Act No. 14 of 2020 and Section 6 (1) and 7 (1) of the Public Appointments (County Assemblies Approval) Act 2017, the County Assembly received notification that the Governor of Murang'a County H.E. Dr. Irungu Kang'ata has nominated James Kamau Thuku of ID No. 22192110 for appointment as the County Attorney.

Pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 47, the above name is hereby committed to the Committee on Governance and Legal Affairs, which shall hold an approval hearing or vetting on the suitability of the nominee to hold office and shall Table its Report on the approval hearing in the Assembly within 21 days from today.

Honourable Members, I further wish to make the following notification; pursuant to the provisions of Section 45 of the County Governments Act of 2012 and Section 6 (1) and 7 (1) of the Public Appointments (County Assemblies Approval) Act 2017, the County Assembly received notification that the Governor of Murang'a County H.E. Dr. Irungu Kang'ata has nominated the following as Chief Officers;

- 1) Judy Njeri Mburu of ID. Number 31279256 department of Revenue and Supply Chain Management.
- 2) Eliud Maina Wanja of ID. Number 27828322 department of Infrastructure and Community Projects.

Disclaimer: This version of the Official Hansard Report is for information purposes only. A certified version of this Report can be obtained from the Hansard Editor.

- 3) Samuel Murigi Mungai of ID. Number 33642899 department of Youth Affairs and Sports.
- 4) Dr. Apollo Kamau Maina of ID. Number 13571740 department of Agriculture, Livestock, Veterinary and Fisheries.
- 5) Bridget Wairimu Irungu of ID. Number 32761043 department of Water, Irrigation, Environment and Climate Change.
- 6) Maxwell Fredrick Wambugu of ID. Number 28991273 department of Roads and Housing.
- 7) Kenneth Mukora Kihato of ID. Number 13277537 department of Medical Services.
- 8) Hassan Abdullahi Abdirahman of ID. Number 29672432 department of Governor's Delivery Unit.
- Meshack Kipkorir Kipkemoi of ID. Number 34145629 department of ICT and Egovernment.
- 10) Edward Irungu Mwangi of ID. Number 21840626 department of Public Service and Administration.
- 11) Leonard Guchu Ndungu of ID. Number 23031552 department of Communication and Media.
- 12) Isaac Wanjohi Karoga of ID. Number 2516850 department of Education and Technical Training.
- 13) Josephine Wanjiru Wanjiku of ID. Number 21694190 department of Lands, Physical Planning and Urban Development.
- 14) Angela Mueni Kioko of ID. Number 24789520 department of Culture, Gender and Social Services.

Pursuant to the provisions of Standing Order 47, the above names are hereby committed to sectoral Committees as follows:

- 1. Judy Njeri Mburu, Chief Officer Revenue and Supply Chain Management, committed to Finance and Economic Planning Committee.
- 2. Eliud Maina Wanja, Chief Officer Infrastructure and Community Projects, committed to Public Works, Roads and Transport Committee.

- 3. Samuel Murigi Mungai, Chief Officer Youth Affairs and Sports, committed to the Committee on Youth, Culture, Gender and Social Services.
- 4. Dr. Apollo Kamau Maina, Chief Officer Agriculture, Livestock, Veterinary and Fisheries, committed to the Committee on Agriculture, Livestock, and Fisheries.
- 5. Bridget Wairimu Irungu, Chief Officer Water, Irrigation, Environment and Climate Change, committed to Joint Water and Irrigation and Energy and Environment Committees.
- Maxwell Fredrick Wambugu, Chief Officer of Roads and Housing, committed to Joint Committees on Public Works, Roads and Transport and Lands, Housing, Physical Planning and Settlement.
- 7. Kenneth Mukora Kihato, Chief Officer Medical Services, committed to the Committee on Health Services.
- 8. Hassan Abdullahi Abdirahman, Chief Officer Governor's Delivery Unit, committed to the Committee on Governance and Legal Affairs.
- 9. Meshack Kipkorir Kipkemoi, Chief Officer ICT and E-government, committed to the Committee on Education, Child Welfare and E-Government.
- 10. Edward Irungu Mwangi, Chief Officer Public Service and Administration, committed to Governance and Legal Affairs Committee.
- 11. Leonard Guchu Ndungu, Chief Officer Communication and Media, committed to the Committee on Education, Child Welfare and E-government.
- 12. Isaac Wanjohi Karoga, Chief Officer Education and Technical Training, committed to the Committee on Education, Child Welfare and E-government.
- 13. Josephine Wanjiru Wanjiku, Chief Officer Lands, Physical Planning and Urban Development, committed to the Committee on Lands, Physical Planning and Urban Development.
- 14. Angela Mueni Kioko, Chief Officer Culture, Gender and Social Services, committed to the Committee on Youth, Culture and Social Services.

Honourable Members, these Committees shall hold approval hearings/vetting on the suitability of the nominees to hold office, and shall Table their Report in the Assembly within 21 days from today. Thank you.

ADJOURNMENT

The Speaker (Hon. Johnson Mukuha): Honourable Members, this House now stands adjourned until Tuesday, April 4, 2023 at 9:30 a.m. Thank you.

The Assembly rose at 9:55 a.m.