

## REPUBLIC OF KENYA SECOND ASSEMBLY- (FIRST SESSION) MURANGA COUNTY ASSEMBLY VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS MONDAY SEPTEMBER 4, 2017

- 1. The House assembled at Thirty Six minutes past Four O'clock.
- 2. The proceedings were opened with a word of prayer.
- 3. PRESIDING The Speaker (Hon. Nduati Kariuki)

## 4. COMMUNICATION FROM THE CHAIR.

Honourable Members, in the morning, we adjourned the House until such a date that would be notified as the date set for the next business of the House. Honourable Members, with regards to the matter at Chief Magistrate's Court at Murang'a, petition no. 1 of 2017, Hellen Ndiko Kigia and two others versus the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), we had instructed our lawyers to challenge the petition and get further direction from the court. We have now received the orders of the court and its decision is that, it has vacated the orders stopping the swearing in of the nominated members of Murang'a County Assembly; in this case, Hon. Members, all the nominated CA's are hereby allowed to take Oath or Affirmation of office.

Pursuant to Article 74 of the Constitution, no person shall assume or perform any functions of the office before taking and subscribing to the Oath or Affirmation of office. Honourable Members, pursuant to Article 74 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010, and the Assembly standing order 4 (2) (c), the clerk shall now proceed to administer the Oath or Affirmation to office to all nominated members here present.

I will now proceed to lay on the Table of the Assembly the precedence list of nominated members.

## 4. PAPERS LAID

The following Paper was laid on the table of the Assembly, pursuant to Standing Order 4(2) (b) -

i) Gazette Notice of the list containing names of the persons nominated as Members of the County Assembly of Murang'a.

## 5. ADMINISTRATION OF OATH/AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE

The Clerk administered the Oath/Affirmation of Office to **Nominated** Members of the County Assembly in the order of precedence in alphabetical order in line with Standing Order 4 (3), as indicated below:-

- 1. Caroline Wairimu Njoroge
- 2. Elizabeth Wambui Mwangi
- 3. Alex Ndunda Makau
- 4. Ann Wangari Kigo
- 5. Beth Waithira
- 6. Cathyrn Wanjiku Mwangi
- 7. Dinah Damaris Muthoni Kagiri
- 8. Eunice Nduta Kariuki
- 9. Flasia Nduta Chege
- 10. Jane Wanjiru Muigai
- 11. Joyce Wambui Njoki
- 12. Lilian Nyaguthii Kabaya
- 13. Lucy Nyambura Ngugi
- 14. Milka Gathoni Ngari
- 15. Passy Njeri Kang'atu
- 16. Ruth Wambui Karanja
- 17. Sarah Njeri Njoroge
- 18. Stephen Mwangi Chege

The Hon. Speaker gave the following communication:

"Honorable members, I wish to congratulate all of you on taking the oath of the House. You are now from this moment officially Honorable Members of this Honorable House"

This House now stands adjourned until further notice as you will be communicated officially.

Thank you.

**6.** HOUSE ROSE – at Twenty Six minutes past Five O'clock.

MEMORANDUM

The Speaker will take the Chair on The next date as per notice

----X----